Aluminium
The production of aluminium is an energy intensive process. The power costs represent 30% in total expenses for aluminium production. Hence, the energy rates can be a blessing or a handicap for the industry’s development in different countries. find out more

BEMO

Boguchanskoye Energy and Metals Complex (BEMO)

Together with Russia’s power generating group RusHydro, RUSAL is constructing a massive energy and metals complex on the Angara River in the Krasnoyarsk region. The complex will include a smelter with the capacity to produce 600,000 tonnes a year and a 3000 MW hydropower plant. The HPP's four 333 MW hydropower units were put into operation in late 2012.

The agreement between RUSAL and RusHydro to jointly build the complex was signed in 2006. The Boguchanskoye complex is currently the world’s largest energy and metals project. Once completed, it will create approximately 10,000 jobs.

The public hearings on the Social and Environmental Impact Assessment of the Boguchanskaya (BEMO) Hydropower Plant construction project, which were conducted in line with international banking requirements, took place in July 2007 in the Krasnoyarsk and Irkutsk regions. In December 2007, a public hearing on the construction of the Boguchansky (BEMO) Smelter was carried out in the Boguchansky district. Public hearings on the Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) took place in the summer of 2008.

Boguchansky (BEMO) aluminium smelter

The BEMO aluminium smelter will be the major consumer of the power, generated by the BEMO HPP. The smelter’s capacities will include a potroom, a casthouse and an anode plant, as well as power- generating units and relevant infrastructure. The smelter consists of two phases, both with 296,000 tonnes per year total capacity, totaling 588,000 tonnes per year. Each phase includes two pot rooms, totaling 672 pots. UC RUSAL in-house RA-300 pot has 2,442 kg per day aluminium production capacity. The project also includes four dry gas cleaning systems, in-plant water recycling system (the first to be used within the Russian aluminium industry), and state of the art equipment by leading suppliers from US, France, Australia and Germany. The construction of the smelter will create 3,500 new jobs.

Boguchanskaya (BEMO) hydropower plant

The construction of the BEMO HPP on the Angara River began in 1979. Between 1994 and 2005 the construction works were suspended due to the economic turbulence and a drop in demand for power. The project was fully restarted in 2006, following an agreement between RUSAL and RusHydro to jointly create the BEMO complex.

First three hydropower units of BEMO HPP was commissioned on 26 November 2012. On 21 January 2013 the 4th hydropower unit has also began its full operations following a full cycle of start-up tests.
Aggregate installed HPP capacity obtained of required industrial operation authorisations from the Russian Federal Service for Environmental, Technical and Nuclear Supervision reached 1,332 MW.

The current daily output of the BEMO HPP exceeds 15 mln kWh. Total HPP output since it started operations is 3.127 bln kWh.

Full cycle start-up tests of units No. 5 and 6 was finished in August 2013. Once the availability of the 500 kW power distribution scheme is achieved, the start-up schedule for the remaining 5 hydropower units (Units 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9) will be revised.

The start-up of the BEMO HPP’s operation at the design capacity of 3,000 MW, with the commissioning of all 9 hydropower units, will depend on the time required to achieve the design water level of 208 meters in the dam reservoir. Once the design capacity is achieved, the BEMO HPP will become one of Russia’s 5 largest hydropower plants.

Project Financing

The project cost is estimated at USD5 billion (excluding the costs of infrastructure and the inundation zone arrangements). The project is co-financed by RUSAL and RusHydro with their own and borrowed funds. In June 2010, Russia’s Vneshekonombank approved a 50 billion rubles loan for RUSAL and RusHydro to complete the complex construction.

The Lower Angara Region Development

The Lower Angara region complex development programme is the largest investment project in Russia for the last 25 years. The project, carried out by the Russian government in partnership with the country’s private business, includes the construction and expansion of the transport and power infrastructure, natural resources development and the building of a pulp-and-paper plant. The BEMO complex construction is central to this programme. Once completed, it will drive Lower Angara’s industrial growth, through securing power supply for the region.

Алюминий
Производство алюминия – чрезвычайно энергоемкий процесс. В структуре его себестоимости затраты на электроэнергию составляют около 30%. Тарифы на электроэнергию играют огромную роль в развитии алюминиевой отрасли в разных странах. подробнее

БЭМО

Богучанское энергометаллургическое объединение (БЭМО)

Совместно с компанией «РусГидро» – российским производителем гидроэлектроэнергии, РУСАЛ строит в Нижнем Приангарье (Красноярский край) энергометаллургический комплекс, в состав которого войдут алюминиевый завод мощностью 600 тыс. тонн и гидроэлектростанция мощностью 3000 МВт. Четыре первых гидроагрегата Богучанской ГЭС были введены в работу в конце 2012 года. 

Соглашение о совместной реализации проекта БЭМО было подписано РУСАЛом и «РусГидро» в 2006 году. БЭМО – крупнейший на сегодняшний день энергометаллургический проект в мире. Его реализация позволит создать около 10 тыс. рабочих мест.

В июле 2007 года в Красноярском крае и Иркутской области состоялись общественные слушания по материалам «Социальной и экологической оценки строительства Богучанской ГЭС мощностью 3000 МВт», выполненной в соответствии с международными банковскими требованиями. В декабре 2007 года в Богучанском районе прошли общественные слушания по проекту строительства Богучанского алюминиевого завода. Общественные слушания материалов «Оценки воздействия на окружающую среду» Богучанской ГЭС были проведены в 2008 году.

Богучанский алюминиевый завод (БоАЗ)

БоАЗ станет одним из основных потребителей энергии, генерируемой Богучанской ГЭС. Производственный комплекс завода будет включать электролизный, литейный и анодный цеха, объекты электроснабжения и инфраструктуры. БоАЗ будет состоять из двух серий производительностью около 296 тыс. тонн алюминия в год каждая. Каждая серия включает в себя два производственных корпуса. Всего на БоАЗе будет установлено 672 электролизера. Собственная технология РУСАЛа РА-300 позволяет производить на одном электролизере 2442 кг алюминия в сутки. Также предусмотрены четыре газоочистки, использование замкнутой системы очистки воды, которая будет впервые в России использоваться на алюминиевом производстве. На заводе планируется установить оборудование ведущих мировых производителей из Канады, Франции, Австралии и Германии. Благодаря строительству БоАЗа в Сибири будет создано около 3,5 тыс. новых рабочих мест.

Богучанская гидроэлектростанция (БоГЭС)

Строительство Богучанской ГЭС на реке Ангаре началось в 1979 году. В период с 1994 по 2005 год строительство было приостановлено в связи с экономическим спадом и снижением спроса на электроэнергию и возобновилось в полном объеме в 2006 году после подписания РУСАЛом и «РусГидро» соглашения о строительстве БЭМО. 

Первые три агрегата Богучанской ГЭС со станционными номерами 1, 2 и 3 были введены в промышленную эксплуатацию 26 ноября, агрегат №4 - 21 января, агрегат №5 – 5 ноября, агрегат №6 – 6 декабря 2013 года после завершения программы испытаний. Станция начала работать в режиме промышленной эксплуатации на Оптовом рынке электроэнергии и мощности (ОРЭМ) с 1 декабря 2012 года.

Совокупная мощность гидроагрегатов БоГЭС, допущенных Ростехнадзором к промышленной эксплуатации, составляет 1998 МВт, реальная (с учетом заполнения водохранилища до отметки 203 м) – 1420 МВт. Суточная выработка станции в ине-июле 2014 года превышала 32 млн кВт*ч.  

Всего с момента запуска БоГЭС поставила на ОРЭМ около 10 млрд кВт*ч, в том числе в первом полугодии 2014 года – более 4,3 млрд кВт*ч электроэнергии.

Пуск станции на проектную мощность в 3000 МВт с вводом всех девяти гидроагрегатов будет зависеть от сроков наполнения водохранилища до проектной отметки 208 метров. После выхода на проектную мощность Богучанская ГЭС войдет в пятерку крупнейших российских гидроэлектростанций.

Финансирование

Стоимость проекта (без учета затрат на строительство инфраструктуры и очистку ложа водохранилища) оценивается в 5 млрд долларов. Проект финансируется за счет собственных и привлеченных средств РУСАЛа и «РусГидро». В июле 2010 года Наблюдательный совет ВЭБа одобрил предоставление кредитов на сумму 50 млрд рублей для завершения строительства комплекса.

Развитие Нижнего Приангарья

Программа комплексного развития Нижнего Приангарья – крупнейший инвестпроект в России за последние 25 лет. Программа развития региона осуществляется на принципах государственно-частного партнерства и предусматривает создание и расширение транспортной и энергетической инфраструктуры, освоение природных ресурсов, а также строительство целлюлозно-бумажного комбината. Проект БЭМО является ключевым элементом этой программы – его реализация позволит создать энергетическую базу, необходимую для развития промышленности в этом регионе.

Адрес официального сайта Богучанского алюминиевого завода – boaz-zavod.ru.